What are IAS Exams?
IAS Exams (popularly known as Civil Services Exams) are being conducted every year in India to fill prestigious posts like IAS (Indian Administrative Service), IPS (Indian Police Service), IFS (Indian Foreign Service), IRS (Indian Revenue Service) and many other central government services.
The Civil Services Exams (IAS Exams) are conducted in three phases.
Phase I: CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) in August
Phase II: Mains (Civil Services Mains) in December
Phase III: Personality test (interview) in Feb/Mar of the following year
Who is the eligible for IAS Exams?
Educational Qualification: Any degree holder (or degree final year students who can get the degree by July of the exam year) from any recognized University in any discipline with any percentage is eligible
Age Qualification: A general category candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on 1st August of the exam year. OBC/SC/ST/PH category candidates can avail age relaxation
Attempts limit: A general category candidates can attempt the exams up to 6 times (applying and not appearing for any paper does not count as an attempt. Appearing for one or more papers count as an attempt). OBC/PH category candidatescan attempt the exams up to 9 times. SC/ST candidates can attempt any number of times as long as their age limit is within the eligibility range.
IAS Syllabus - Mains 2014 - New Pattern

UPSC made major changes in the syllabus as well as pattern of the Main Exam. These changes will be applicable from IAS Main Exam-2013.
Candidates appearing for the IAS 2013 need to note about the changes in the scheme of civil services (main) examination.
Also, it is very important to note that certain changes have been implemented in respect to the choice of language medium in the Main examination.
The Main examination will comprise of seven papers in all.

PAPER-I: English 300 marks (Section 1 Essay-200 Marks
Section 2 English Comprehension & English Précis-100 Marks)
PAPER-II: General Studies- I: Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society-250 Marks
PAPER-III: General Studies- II: Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations-250 Marks
PAPER-IV: General Studies-III: Technology, Economic Development, Bio diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management-250 marks
PAPER-V: General Studies- IV: Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude-250 Marks
PAPER-VI : Optional Subject Papers I 250 Marks
PAPER VII: Optional Subject Papers II 250 Marks
Personality Test (Interview)- 275 Marks

Best Books for CSAT (required and must read)

good Books for CSAT (optional and good to read if you have time)

your comment