What is the Syllabus for UPSC CSAT 2014?

The Syllabus for UPSC CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test):

Paper I - (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

- Current events of national and international importance

- History of India and Indian National Movement

- Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.

- Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

- Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

- General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change - that do not require subject specialization

- General Science.


Paper II- (200 marks) Duration: Two hours


- Comprehension

- Interpersonal skills including communication skills

- Logical reasoning and analytical ability

- Decision making and problem solving

- General mental ability

- Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. -Class X level)

- English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

Find us on Facebook

Best Books for CSAT (required and must read)
good Books for CSAT (optional and good to read if you have time)

your comment